UEFA Admits Ukraine’s Goal Was Good
The disallowed goal of Ukraine roundabout the hour mark is one of great contention, considering there were other factors leading up to the ball crossing the goal line – such as an uncalled offside.
However, UEFA’s stance on the matter – and sit down for this one – has come down: wrong decision. Which is likely the first time anyone from UEFA has admitted to a refereeing error. Ever. Because it actually is.
“The ball crossed the line,” said Collina. “That was unfortunate. It would have been better not to have it.”
But the man who was once widely regarded as the world’s best referee claimed it was the first failure in “thousands of matches” in which so-called additional assistant referees, who police the goalline, had been used.
“This is the only problem we have had,” he said. “It’s one negative decision in three years of Champions League and two years of Europa League and 24 matches in the Euro.
There are no words.
Comments are closed